Upcoming Event


Past Events

X Space: "Raisi's Death and the Competition for Iran's Future Leadership."

On May 26, 2024, the Afghan Institute for Strategic Studies hosted an Xspace with prominent experts from Iran and Afghanistan. In this virtual roundtable - titled "Raisi's death and the competition for Iran's future leadership." - Ms. Mahdieh Golroo, a political analyst and feminist, Dr. Sardar Mohammad Rahimi, a geopolitics researcher at the University of Paris, Dr. Shahram Kholdi, a professor of history and international relations, and Mehrdad Farahmand, an expert on Middl...

Tolo TV: From Democratic Platform to Taliban's Mouthpiece

Join AISS on Sunday, May 12th, 2024, at 11:00 AM EST—7:30 PM Kabul time for an essential X-Space discussion on "Tolo TV: From Democratic Platform to Taliban's Mouthpiece," hosted by Ms. Frozan Azimi. The discussion will feature esteemed panellists Ms. Humairi Saqib, a journalist; Sidiqullah Tawhidi, a writer and journalist; Bahar Mehr, a writer and political activist; and Javid Hamdard, a political analyst.

Dimensions of Psychological Warfare of Taliban & ISIS Groups

X Space Dimensions of Psychological Warfare of Taliban & ISIS Groups Sunday,  April 07, 2024, 16:00 – 17:30 GMT | 11:00 – 12:30 EDT | 19:30 – 21:00 Kabul Time X Space Link: https://twitter.com/i/spaces/1OyJAWrzEPOKb    

Book Launch Tali Girls

Venue: Imperial College Business School South Kensington Campus, Exhibition Rd, London SW7 2AZ. Room LTUG.  

The Forth International Conference on Nowruz Diplomacy and The Nowruz Trophy

Radio Nowruz and the Afghan Institute for Strategic Studies, in cooperation with other cultural organizations, will commemorate the ancient festival of Nowruz, Persian New Year. As one of the representatives of Nowruzistan region, we will host the fourth international Nowruz Diplomacy Conference at the Koushk Art Garden, Tehran. We will decorate the Haft Sin table and Haft Mewa, traditional Afghanistan music and special Afghanistan handicrafts. Note: Participation in this program is...

Taliban: Deobandism and Ethnic Dimension

X Space Taliban: Deobandism and Ethnic Dimension Sunday, March 3, 2024, 16:00 – 18:00 GMT | 11:00 – 13:00 EST  20:30 – 22:30 Kabul Time

UN Doha Conference on Afghanistan: The Way Forward

Join our webinar for a discussion on the aftermath of the UN Doha Conference on Afghanistan. Despite the absence of the Taliban, representatives from 25 countries, along with the EU, OIC, and SCO, convened to explore the path forward. However, consensus among global and regional powers remained elusive. The key questions: - Transitioning from a Taliban-centric to an Afghanistan-centric approach - Balancing geopolitical interests for a lasting political settlement - Uni...

Religion and Society in Afghanistan: A Study of Taliban Theology

Join us on our upcoming event at Istanbul Medeniyet University on Friday, February 23, 2024, hosted by the Afghan Institute for Strategic Studies (AISS). Explore "Religion and Society in Afghanistan: A Study of Taliban Theology," featuring research by Abdul Kabir Salehi titled "An Inquiry into Taliban Theology; Deobandism with a Pashtunwali Flavor.” Venue: Istanbul Medeniyet University, Ziraat Bank Library, Ziraat Bank Conference Hall Address: Üna...

Taliban’s Evolving Character

Airlie Dialogue Taliban’s Evolving Character Organiser: American Foreign Policy Council Presentation by Dr Davood Moradian, DG of AISS Monday, February 12, 2024 Washington D.C, USA

China-Taliban Relations: Can It be Sustained?

Introduction: The panel discussion will be organized by the Afghanistan Institute of Strategic Studies (AISS) and moderated by Sadiq Amini, Program Manager for Outreach at Observer Research Foundation America (ORF America). Objective: The panel discussion aims to provide insights into the multifaceted relationship between China and the Taliban and its impact on regional dynamics. By bringing together experts and stakeholders, the discu...